First ride back, first race.

(Hillingdon Imperial winter series 3rd cat – 1st December 2012)

Against my own, and my girlfriend’s advice I decided to make a race my first ride back after the couple of weeks off. Easing myself back into things? I rode to the race to get a few extra kms in.

I found the overall pace fine averaging 40 kmph. Attacking several times during the race I was opening up some gaps but I didn’t have the legs to hold off the chase. I found it hard to sustain efforts, and was suffering more than usual. On the positive side, I was up the pointy end most of the race (burning all my matches so I couldn’t do anything in the inevitable bunch kick – my classic tactic).

Hillingdon 121201

Click image to enlarge

1) During the first half of the race, attacking and under attack my heart rate ranged from 160 at the base of the “climb” to high 180s towards the top. The ‘Neon-Digital.co.uk’ riders seemed strong and were involved at the front of the race for a lot of the race, as well as a couple of individual riders who were interested in attacking throughout.

Imperial winter series race1.3

Strong westerly cross wind on the straight

Where’s my focus – Squirrel?

2) One guy “Luke Souter” of Banbury Star C.C was up the road for a while. There didn’t seem to be an active chase so I decided to bridge across. I made it over and we began working together for a few laps (looks like 4), we were working well swapping turns. The bunch then began to close in on us. I’m not sure whether this was a organised chase or someone else trying to bridge and dragging the bunch, but we were caught.

In the break

3) I am not known for my sprinting (“a four year old girl would destroy you in a sprint” – has been said) and today was not an exception. Positioning was fine but didn’t have it to contest for the sprint, so just focused on staying upright. Sprinting is something that I really need to focus on in training… but the training makes me chunder, so I’m not a massive fan.

I was disappointed not to get away, and not to win, I won’t ever like losing. But, overall I think its a reasonable place to build on, especially after my rest (just eating Burritos and drinking beers in California). I enjoyed the racing too. My legs seem to improving with rides, seem to be ‘opening up’ a bit.

I’ll probably race Hillingdon again in a couple of weeks.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment